Six is a good age to be

Foreigner – Blue Morning, Blue Day

Today’s Quote: “Your Highness, I have no need of this hypothesis.” — Pierre Laplace (1749-1827), to Napoleon on why his works on celestial mechanics make no mention of God.


Happy Birthday, Ben! Alles Gute zum Geburtstag.


Ich bin ein Berliner
Regarding the Does My Car Make Me Look Fat? post and Kennedy’s Berliner speech. Yes, JFK did say “Ich bin ein Berliner.” It does literally translate to “I am a jelly doughnut.” However, after further research, I have found that in the context in which he used the phrase, he was grammatically correct and everyone knew what he meant. The article “ein” was used for emphasis in this case although in normal conversation the “ein” would have been omitted. It’s still a fun play on words and, believe it or not, the Germans are capable of humor.

Here are a couple of links on the subject:
Text: Kennedy’s Berlin speech
Did President Kennedy Say He Was a Jelly Doughnut?

Urban myth, my ass.

Here’s another one for you. Translate “Gorillas in dem Mist.”

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Six is a good age to be”

Comments are closed.