A 3-day week but it felt longer

The Spinners – Ain’t No Woman Like the One I Got

Today’s Quote: “You know how it is: whatever beliefs you hold, you will find experiences to support it.” — Silvia Hartmann


On tomorrow’s agenda I have a trip to the dump and some plumbing. And I gotta fix the handle on the toilet. Those are the big items. I’ve got my Web site update to do and I need to go through my room with a fine tooth comb searching for misplaced documents. It’s going to be a such a fun day. It may be difficult to work in some quality naked time but I’ll try. Just what SPF should you use down there? (I need to know just in case.)


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. Who wrote such Frank Sinatra hits as I Get A Kick Out of You and I’ve Got You Under My Skin? A) George Gershwin B) Cole Porter C) Lorenzo Hart
2. This folk song writer was a self-proclaimed Communist and wrote Where Have All the Flowers Gone and We Shall Overcome. A) Huddie Ledbetter B) Woody Guthrie C) Pete Seeger
3. This singer of Relase Me (Let Me Love Again) was known as Gene Dorsey before changing his name to: A) Tom Jones B) Engelbert Humperdinck C) Perry Como
4. Steely Dan tells who “not to lose that number”? A) Sheila B) Delilah C) Rikki
5. Who wrote Roll Over Beethoven? A) Chuck Berry B) The Beatles C) Bo Diddley


“It’s just too hot to wear clothes today,” Rick said as he stepped out of the shower, “Honey, what the neighbors would think if I mowed the lawn like this?”
“Probably that I married you for your money,” she replied.


Music Trivia Answers:
1. B) Cole Porter
2. C) Pete Seger [Pete Seeger wrote Where Have All the Flowers Gone as a call for peace. He was inspired by Mikhail Sholokhov’s novel And Quiet Flows the Dawn. The folk group Peter, Paul And Mary began playing this, and when The Kingston Trio saw them perform it in concert, they recorded it the next day. (Songfacts.com)]
3. B) Engelbert Humperdinck [Relase Me (Let Me Love Again) was the first single he recorded under the name Engelbert Humperdinck, and it became the biggest hit of his career. He had previously recorded as Gerry Dorsey. (Songfacts.com) It has been recorded by a slew of Country artists. The version I recall was done by a Country artist back in the 60s. Maybe it was Jim Reeves. I don’t freakin’ remember.]
4. C) Rikki [The keyboard riff was taken from Song For My Father, which was released in 1964 by Jazz composer and pianist Horace Silver. The opening of both songs is nearly identical. Rikki Don’t Lose That Number is a good example of how Steely Dan used elements of Jazz in pop songs. (Songfacts.com) Sheila was a hit for Tommy Roe and Delilah was sung by Tom Jones.]
5. A) Chuck Berry [Roll Over Beethoven is about the Rock ‘n’ Roll craze that was taking over America. Beethoven and Tchaikovsky were classical composers who were being bumped aside by Rock. The Beatles released a version of this in 1963. They played it at most of their early live shows. The Electric Light Orchestra covered this in 1973, mixing in some of Beethoven’s music. It was their biggest hit at the time. (Songfacts.com)]

Give me credit for all but the first one. I never really listened to Frank much. Maybe when I get older I’ll have a greater appreciation of his collected works.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.