Where was the parade?

Brewer & Shipley – One Toke Over the Line

Today’s Quote:“Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, –That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness.” — Thomas Jefferson, Declaration of Independence, July 4, 1776


On this day in history, 1826 – John Adams and Thomas Jefferson died, Adams at his farm in Quincy, Massachusetts and Jefferson at Monticello. Adams’ last words were “Thomas Jefferson survives.” However, Jefferson had passed away several hours earlier.


Despite the threat of rain, it was a pretty good 4th of July. Ah, what happened to the parade? Weren’t we supposed to have a parade? In my free moments today I managed to update the files for my genealogy pages. I don’t have them uploaded yet, maybe by the weekend.

I am also creating pages for a CD version. I think I’ve got most of the links right. Since the total Web content is only about 66MB, I’m pulling in some documents and stuff to help fill up the other 634MB on the CD. I’m looking at how I can incorporate them into the site. Unlike the rest of my life, I’d like to keep my site organized and uncluttered.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. Who had a 90s album called Black Tie/White Noise? A) David Bowie B) Phil Collins C) Sting
2. From which TV show is the lyric, “Mister we could use a man like Herbert Hoover again”? A The Golden Girls B) All In The Family C) That 70s Show
3. From which musical comes the lyrics, “Summertime and the livin’ is easy”? A) Carousel B) Rent C) Porgy & Bess
4. Who had the hit song I Wanna Dance With Somebody? A) Donna Summer B) Madonna C) Whitney Houston
5. Who had hits with Who’s Zooming Who and Freeway of Love in 1985? A) Aretha Franklin B) The Pointer Sisters C) Wham


“People think that we started Firefox just to take down Microsoft, just to win some kind of competition. Why would we want to win? There’s no money involved for us. There’s no (initial public offering) for this company; it’s a non-profit. Why would we want to do this unless there’s a real need? The truth is I think Microsoft is very directly responsible for spyware and adware and the pop-up ads in general that proliferated across the Web after they abandoned their product. I mean, this is the world’s most-used software application ever … and I just think it’s irresponsible for a company to abandon it simply because they can’t find a financial incentive to continue development on it.” — Blake Ross, one of the founders of the Mozilla Firefox project


Music Trivia Answers:
1. A) David Bowie
2. B) All In The Family
3. C) Porgy & Bess
4.C) Whitney Houston
5. A) Aretha Franklin

I knew 2,3, and 5.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.