Happy Birthday

Herman’s Hermits – Mrs. Brown, You’ve Got a Lovely Daughter

Today’s Quote:“The Second Day of July 1776, will be the most memorable Epocha, in the History of America. I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated, by succeeding Generations, as the great anniversary Festival. It ought to be commemorated, as the Day of Deliverance by solemn Acts of Devotion to God Almighty. It ought to be solemnized with Pomp and Parade, with Shews, Games, Sports, Guns, Bells, Bonfires and Illuminations from one End of this Continent to the other from this Time forward forever more. You will think me transported with Enthusiasm but I am not. I am well aware of the Toil and Blood and Treasure, that it will cost Us to maintain this Declaration, and support and defend these States. Yet through all the Gloom I can see the Rays of ravishing Light and Glory. I can see that the End is more than worth all the Means. And that Posterity will tryumph in that Days Transaction, even altho We should rue it, which I trust in God We shall not.” — John Adams writing to his wife Abigial, July 3rd 1776 (The Book of Abigail and John: Selected Letters of the Adams Family, 1762-1784, Harvard University Press, 1975, 142)


SEB02Today is Suzette’s 51st birthday. Best birthday wishes to you in Burton, Ohio. (That’s right, I know where you live, over by the fairgrounds.)

I was sure she was at least a couple years younger than me. The court record I found last year on her divorce from her first husband could be wrong on the year as well. It showed her birth date as 7/22/55. I know it was July 2nd. I’m positive of that. For years I couldn’t recall the year she was born. She was 15 when I met her and I was in either in my sophomore or junior year in high school. Maybe 1955 is right. She was a cousin of one of my sister’s friends and when I saw her it was lust at first sight. Of course, at the time I didn’t know it was lust; I thought it was some other “L” word.

Back then I wanted to be a professional photographer and she aspired to be a model. Strange, what becomes of your dreams. But I suppose it worked out for the better.

Be that as it may, I still take a moment to wish her a happy birthday. A boy never forgets his first lust and I still sort of regret I didn’t collect on the strip poker IOU when I had the chance. Naivety can be such a curse.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. Who was the lead singer in the Partridge Family? A) David Cassidy B) Bobby Sherman C) Barry Williams
2. What was the name of Bruce Hornsby’s backup group? A) The Range B) Baker Street C) The Stream
3. Johnny Carson’s longtime band leader, Doc Severinson, played which instrument? A) Saxophone B) Guitar C) Trumpet
4. Which southern city is home to both The Backstreet Boys and *NSYNC? A) Atlanta, Georgia B) Orlando, Florida C) New Orleans, Louisiana
5. Which of these was not a member of the Jackson 5? A) Randy B) Marlon C) Tito


Music Trivia Answers:
1. A) David Cassidy
2. A) The Range
3. C) Trumpet
4. B) Orlando, Florida
5. A) Randy

I missed #4 today. As if I gave a rat’s ass where The Backstreet Boys and *NSYNC came from.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.