It’s a new month already?

The Proclaimers – 500 Miles

Today’s Quote: “No one ever teaches well who wants to teach, or governs well who wants to govern.” — Plato


How hard can it be to cancel an AOL account? And just why do you need to speak to my father?


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. From which Beatles song is the lyric, “Well my heart went boom when I crossed that room”? A) I Want to Hold Your Hand B) I Saw Her Standing There C) All My Loving
2. “When I’m home everything seems to be alright” is from this Beatles song. A) And I Love Her B) All You Need is Love C) A Hard Day’s Night
3. Whose backup band was called The Melody Makers? A) Ziggy Marley B) Cliff Richard C) Jimmy Cliff
4. Who sang with The Plastic Ono Band? A) George Harrison B) Ringo Starr C) John Lennon
5. Whose backup band is called the E-Street Band? A) Prince B) Bruce Springsteen C) John Mellencamp


Q: What do you do to an elephant with three balls?
A: Walk him and pitch to the rhinoceros!


Music Trivia Answers:
1. B) I Saw Her Standing There [John Lennon and Paul McCartney wrote this in McCartney’s living room after they skipped school one day. Paul McCartney stated many years ago that there was a bit of a struggle settling on the right rhyme for the word “17.” They considered “And a real beauty queen,” but “17” and “beauty queen” had already been used in another song by another band. They settled with “And you know what I mean” and according to McCartney the line meant “Absolutely nothing.” (Songfacts.com)]
2. C) A Hard Day’s Night [The title was taken from an expression Ringo used to say. In a 1964 interview with DJ Dave Hull, Ringo explained: “We went to do a job, and we’d worked all day and we happened to work all night. I came up still thinking it was day I suppose, and I said, ‘It’s been a hard day…’ and I looked around and saw it was dark so I said, ‘Night!’ So we came to ‘A Hard Day’s Night.'” Eight Days A Week is another Ringo saying made into a song. (Songfacts.com)]
3. A) Ziggy Marley
4. C) John Lennon
5. B) Bruce Springsteen

I missed #3. I really haven’t paid much attention to Ziggy Marley. He did the theme song for the PBS show Arthur, didn’t he?

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.