Aberrant Behavior

Simon & Garfunkel – Feelin’ Groovy

Today’s Quote: “As an adolescent I aspired to lasting fame, I craved factual certainty, and I thirsted for a meaningful vision of human life – so I became a scientist. This is like becoming an archbishop so you can meet girls.” — M. Cartmill


While passing through the lobby this morning, our receptionist noted that I seemed to be in a really good mood, happy even. I thought for a moment and realized that, yes indeed, I was. It was kind of scary. I can offer no explanation for this aberrant behavior but I decided I would go with the flow for as long as it lasted, knowing I would eventually turn back into the cynical, cranky, old sourpuss everyone knows and loves. I should savor the moment; who knows when I might feel this good again or how long it will last? (As of 7:20 PM, I’m still feeling pretty good.)


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. What is the name of Woody Guthrie’s singing son? A) Woody Guthrie B) Arlo Guthrie C) Andy Guthrie
2. Who sang the heartfelt lyric “I learned the truth at seventeen that love was meant for beauty queens”? A) Melissa Manchester B) Janis Ian C) Carole King
3. Which song has the lyric “Why do birds suddenly appear, every time you are near”? A) Top of the World B) Close to You C) For All We Know
4. Who had a hit in the 90s with Streets of Philadelphia? A) Bruce Springsteen B) Dire Straits C) Counting Crows
5. This singer had a hit in 1986 with What Have You Done For Me Lately? A) Madonna B) Lisa Lisa C) Janet Jackson


Music Trivia Answers:
1. B) Arlo Guthrie
2. B) Janis Ian [Janis Ian performed At Seventeen on the first episode of Saturday Night Live in 1975. There’s a lot more interesting information at Songfacts.com.]
3. B) Close to You [This was written by the songwriting team of Burt Bacharach and Hal David. It was originally released as the B-side of “Blue Guitar” by Richard Chamberlain in 1963. The Carpenters recorded it in 1970. (Songfacts.com)]
4. A) Bruce Springsteen [Director Jonathan Demme used this to open his movie Philadelphia. Starring Tom Hanks, it was about a lawyer dying of AIDS. Demme met Springsteen in 1985 on the video shoot for “Sun City,” but had not seen him since. Demme first cut the title sequence of Philadelphia to Southern Man and asked Neil Young to write a song like it for the movie. Young gave him Philadelphia, which he used at the end of the film. Still needing a song for the opening, he called Springsteen. (Songfacts.com)]
5. C) Janet Jackson

I knew them all except #5. So much for my trivia streak. I suppose that if I listened to Janet Jackson and actually cared, I might have known that. The only thing about her that stands out in my mind is her ugly boob jewelry. (Yeah, the adjective refers to the boob and the jewelry.) Was everyone under the impression that she didn’t have breasts?

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.