Huh?

Bob Dylan – Gotta Serve Somebody

Today’s Quote: “A man is a success if you gets up in the morning and goes to bed at night and in between, does what he wants to do.” — Bob Dylan


We had the “local” Cincinnati news on the telly this morning and I saw a commercial for the Moore University of Hair Design. What does it take to get a full ride scholarship? What majors do they offer? What about their post-graduate degree program? What about intercollegiate sports? I don’t believe I’ve ever seen them in an NCAA tournament.


Every morning, on my ever so pleasant drive to work, I hear a commercial touting the benefits of propane, especially for heating water. For most of the ad they properly identify the appliance as a water heater but near the end they slip up and say, “hot water heater.” I ask you, what’s the point in having a major appliance that heats hot water? Maybe for some people, hot water isn’t good enough. They need to transfer the heated water from the “water heater” to the “hot water heater” to get it even hotter. If your skin ain’t red when you step out of the shower, then you ain’t clean.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. Which Beatles song has the lyric, “Picture yourself in a boat on the river”? A) Yellow Submarine B) Octopus’s Garden C) Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds
2. In which Beatles song do they sing, “I’m not half the man I used to be”? A) Yesterday B) Help C) Nowhere Man
3. This Beatles song has the lyric “You say yes, I say no”. A) Ticket to Ride B) Eight Days a Week C) Hello Goodbye
4. Who had a 60s hit with The Times They Are A Changin’? A) Donovan B) Bob Dylan C) The Byrds
5. Which popular wedding reception song has the lyric “Left a good job in the city, working for the man every night and day”? A) I’m a Believer B) Wild Thing C) Proud Mary
6. “How many roads must a man walk down before you can call him a man” comes from which 60s hit? A) Blowin’ in the Wind B) Both Sides Now C) Mr. Tambourine Man


I still haven’t talked to anyone at DirecTV about the local channels. Oh, I’ve called; I just haven’t spoken to a real live human bean yet. I have this problem with voice menus. I believe they are a pox on humanity. “Your call is important to us. Please hold while we transfer you to another queue.” If my call is so damned important to you, then why can’t a live person answer it in the first place? Maybe I should just have my computerized voice system respond to your computerized voice system. Let the machines work it out.


Music Trivia Answers:
1. C) Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds [Actor William Shatner, who played Captain Kirk on Star Trek, covered this in his dramatic, spoken-word style. In at least one poll, this version was voted the worst Beatles cover of all time. Much more about this song at Songfacts.com.]
2. A) Yesterday [McCartney is the only Beatle to play on this. It was the first time a Beatle recorded without the others. Much more about this song at Songfacts.com.]
3. C) Hello Goodbye [John Lennon hated the song. He viewed it as an inconsequential song of McCartney’s, saying it was “three minutes of contradictions and meaningless juxtapositions.” What further infuriated Lennon was that his I Am The Walrus, was issued as the B-side to McCartney’s A-side Hello Goodbye. (Songfacts.com)]
4. B) Bob Dylan [Released in 1964, it became an anthem for frustrated youth. It summed up the anti-establishment feelings of people who would later be known as hippies. (Songfacts.com)]
5. C) Proud Mary [This was the first of 5 singles by Creedence Clearwater Revival that went to #2 on the US chart. They had the most #2 songs without ever having a #1. (Songfacts.com)]
6. A) Blowin’ in the Wind [Dylan wrote this in about 10 minutes one afternoon. He put words to the melody of an old slave song called No More Auction Block, which he might have learned from Carter family records. In the evening, Dylan took the song to the nightclub Gerde’s Folk City in Greenwich Village, where he was due to play a set. Before playing it, he announced, “This here ain’t no protest song or anything like that, ’cause I don’t write no protest songs.” During this first performance, Dylan couldn’t read some of his own handwriting and made up some of the lyrics as he went along. It was also a hit for Peter, Paul & Mary. (Songfacts.com)]

As you might have expected, I got all six correct today.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.