I fart in your general direction

The Asylum Street Spankers – The Scrotum Song

Today’s Quote: “Given that flatulence is one of the main limiting factors for the consumption of this important foodstuff, the implementation of processes which allow for nutritious and non-flatulence-producing beans to be obtained would be interesting.” — Biologist Marisela Granito hopes to rewrite the old “beans, beans, good for your heart” adage with a flatulence-free legume. [What fun is that?]


Nothing much happened today.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. Who had a hit in the duo song It Takes Two with Tina Turner? A) Bryan Adams B) Rod Stewart C) Elton John
2. Janet Jackson teamed up with this artist on her song Scream. A) Will Smith B) Lenny Kravitz C) Michael Jackson
3. With whom did Frank Sinatra sing on the duet Somethin’ Stupid? A) Doris Day B) Nancy Sinatra C) Sammy Davis, Jr.
4. Which group had a hit song with Lola? A) The Kinks B) Derek & the Dominoes C) Guns ‘n Roses
5. Who sang about Angie? A) Guns ‘n Roses B) Aerosmith C) The Rolling Stones


Music Trivia Answers:
1. B) Rod Stewart
2.C) Michael Jackson
3. B) Nancy Sinatra
4. A) The Kinks [Lola is about a transvestite (Duh!). Ray Davies wrote the lyrics after their manager got drunk at a club and started dancing with what he thought was a woman. Toward the end of the night, his stubble started showing, but their manager was too tanked to notice (Songfacts.com). I love the song, especially the lyric, “Well I’m not the world’s most masculine man/But I know what I am and I’m glad I’m a man/And so is Lola.”]
5. C) The Rolling Stones [This was thought to be about David Bowie’s wife, Angela, a friend of Mick Jagger’s, but the lyrics suggest it is about his relationship with Marianne Faithfull, which ended in turmoil in 1969. Another possibility is that Jagger wrote it for Angela “Dandelion” Richards, daughter of Keith and Anita Pallenberg, born April 17, 1972. Jagger: “People began to say that song was written about David Bowie’s wife but the truth is that Keith wrote the title. He said, “Angie.” And I think it was to do with his daughter. She’s called Angela. And then I just wrote the rest of it.” (Songfacts.com) The song was released in 1973 on their Goat’s Head Soup album.]

Let’s see, I’ll take credit for knowing 3, 4, and 5. Lola is my favorite Kinks’ song ever.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.