Oh, Fug it

The Fugs – The Divine Toe (Part 1)

Today’s Quote: “Sweet, sane, still Nakedness in Nature! –ah if poor, sick, prurient humanity in cities might really know you once more! Is not nakedness then indecent? No, not inherently. It is your thought, your sophistication, your fear, your respectability that is indecent. There come moods when these clothes of ours are not only too irksome to wear, but are themselves indecent. Perhaps indeed he or she to whom the free exhilarating ecstasy of nakedness in Nature has never been eligible (and how many thousands there are!) has not really known what purity is–nor what faith or art or health really is.” – Walt Whitman, A Sun-Bath–Nakedness in Specimen Days


I woke early one morning,
The earth lay cool and still
When suddenly a tiny bird
Perched on my window sill,
He sang a song so lovely
So carefree and so gay,

That slowly all my troubles
Began to slip away.
He sang of far off places
Of laughter and of fun,
It seemed his very trilling,
Brought up the morning sun.

I stirred beneath the covers
Crept slowly out of bed,
Then gently shut the window
And crushed his little head.

I’m not a morning person.


What a wonderful world it would be if I could purchase, download, or otherwise obtain a copy of The Fugs’ It Crawled Into My Hand, Honest. I know I had it on tape at one time. Back in ’74 or ’75 I borrowed the album from a friend and it was my practice to always make and keep a backup copy on tape in case anything ever happened to his record. Rhino Records reissues a lot of old, obscure rock and roll, why not this album? Oh, how I want to listen to it again and share it with a new generation. That’s what it’s all about, man, sharing.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. Which singer starred in the 2001 movie called Glitter? A) Jennifer Lopez B) Mariah Carey C) Britney Spears
2. Which singer’s first film was Moonlight and Valentine? A) Jon Bon Jovi B) Prince C) Vanilla Ice
3. Nona Gaye, who has a major role in the two Matrix movie sequels is which famous singer’s daughter? A) Johnny Mathis B) Smokey Robinson C) Marvin Gaye
4. Which of these singers did his own TV series on Showtime? A) Randy Travis B) Chris Isaak C) Lyle Lovett
5. Which legendary British rocker has had such film parts as a caveman, the Pope, and Merlin the Magician? A) Ringo Starr B) Roger Daltrey C) David Bowie


Music Trivia Answers:
1.B) Mariah Carey
2. A) Jon Bon Jovi
3. C) Marvin Gaye
4. B) Chris Isaak
5. A) Ringo Starr

I sort of guessed the third one and I remembered the caveman movie with Ringo Starr and Barbara Bach. Bowie was in Labyrinth and Zoolander.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Oh, Fug it”

  1. Tribute
    This morning, the Bob & Tom show had a “Tribute to Nudity.” Naturally, it was bawdy, risque, and ribald, not to mention lewd, crude, and socially unacceptable. But it was good fun. Unfortunately, I was on my way to work and didnt’ get to listen to very much of it. Darn, just my luck.
    Speaking of tribute, I finally got some stamps and mailed my tribute payment, thereby avoiding foreclosure on my soul.

    Like

Comments are closed.