Updated Rants

Steppenwolf – Monster

Today’s Quote: “The girl with dark hair was coming towards him across the field. With what seemed a single movement she tore off her clothes and flung them disdainfully aside. Her body was white and smooth, but it aroused no desire in him, indeed he barely looked at it. What overwhelmed him in that instant was admiration for the gesture with which she had thrown her clothes aside. With all its grace and carelessness it seemed to annihilate a whole [oppressive] culture, a whole system of thought.” — From a dream scene in George Orwell`s 1984


I’ve found something that will make it easy for me to put my genealogy web sites on an autorun CD. That’s gonna make Christmas shopping a little easier. My sister will probably receive the first beta. A cousin has sent me some new pictures. I need to scan them and get them up on the site soon.


I guess I must have been on a rant yesterday and revised a few of my more opinionated and sarcastic pages, namely Bummed, Prayer for Guidance and Protection, the Beatitudes, and The Awesome Power of Breasts. Be warned, however, that these pages are not politically correct and may not be suitable for neo-conservatives, fundamentalists and Republinazis.. But I have no problem with children reading them. In fact, I’d encourage it.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. What did Rocky Raccoon find when he checked into his room? A) A policeman B) A gun C) Gideon’s Bible
2. What was the name of Elvis Presley’s imposing manager? A) Carl Perkins B) Colonel Tom Parker C) Junior Parker
3. Who was married to The Cosby Show‘s Lisa Bonet and had a hit song with Fly Away? A) Lenny Kravitz B) R. Kelly C) Jay Z
4. Who recorded the song House at Pooh Corner in 1972? A) Crosby, Stills, & Nash B) Dan Fogelberg C) Loggins & Messina
5. What was Luciano Pavarotti’s profession before becoming an opera singer? A) Librarian B) Elementary school teacher C) Chef


Music Trivia Answers:
1. C) Gideon’s Bible [The original title was “Rocky Sassoon.” Paul McCartney got the idea for this when he was playing guitar with John Lennon and Donovan Leitch at the Maharishi’s camp in India. George Martin played the piano in an old-west saloon style. (Songfacts.com)]
2. B) Colonel Tom Parker
3. A) Lenny Kravitz [The lyrics are very simple, which makes the song great for sports montages and movie scenes where there is no deep meaning trying to be conveyed. Kravitz feels good songwriting can be done with very basic ideas. (Songfacts.com)]
4. C) Loggins & Messina [Jim Messina played bass for Buffalo Springfield after Bruce Palmer was deported to Canada for the second time.]
5. B) Elementary school teacher

I’ll take credit for knowing 1, 2, and 4. Personally, I thought Lenny Kravitz’s cover of American Woman sucked. I guess I’m a purist when it comes to The Guess Who.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “Updated Rants”

Comments are closed.