Looking for gems among the turds

Foghat – Slow Ride

Today’s Quote: “Clothes therefore, must be truly a badge of greatness; the insignia of the superiority of man over all other animals, for surely there could be no other reason for wearing the hideous things.” — Tarzan, from Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs


I just found out that Father’s Day is next Sunday. Judging from the ads on the radio, I should probably be getting a new cell phone that I can download music to, or diamonds. The jewelers of America would have you believe diamonds are the perfect gift for anyone on any occasion. I already have a cell phone with more features than I want and I have no use for jewelry. You’re on your own on this one, kids.


I’ve uploaded Fragments (Life as Lunch) to Frank N. Webb. I guess you could call it an anthology of the crap I’ve written over the years, or at least the crap I still have copies of. I’m sure a lot of it is terrible but there may a a gem or two among the turds.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. From which movie is the song Let the River Run by Carly Simon? A) You’ve Got Mail B) Thelma & Louise C) Working Girl
2. Who had a hit with his version of Morning Has Broken? A) Don McLean B) Cat Stevens C) Jim Croce
3. In which Beatles song is “a barber showing photographs of every head he’s had the pleasure to know”? A) Nowhere Man B) Penny Lane C) Baby, You’re a Rich Man
4. In which song are the Beatles “sitting on a cornflake, waiting for the van to come”? A) I Am the Walrus B) Your’re Mother Should Know C) Day Tripper
5. “They’re going to put me in the movies. They’re going to make a big start out of me.” comes from which song? A) Drive My Car B) Act Naturally C) Day Tripper


Music Trivia Answers:
1. C) Working Girl
2. B) Cat Stevens [He got the lyrics from a hymn book he found at a bookstore while looking for song ideas. It was a children’s hymn by Eleanor Farjeon, who also wrote a lot of children’s poetry. Rick Wakeman, who later became a member of Yes, played keyboards. He claims he was never paid for his work. (Songfacts.com)]
3. B) Penny Lane [Paul McCartney was sitting at a bus shelter waiting for John Lennon to meet him on Penny Lane, a street near their houses. While sitting there Paul jotted down the things he saw, including a barber’s shop with pictures of its clients and a nurse selling poppies for Remembrance Day (November 11th or the day World War I officially ended). He later turned these into the song we now know. Penny Lane still contains the bank and barber’s shop mentioned in the song, however the shelter in the middle of the roundabout where the nurse sells the poppies has now become a restaurant named Sgt. Pepper’s Bistro. There are some obscene references in this song that were intentional – “Finger Pie” and “keeps his fire engine clean” were sexual slang. John Lennon played piano and George Harrison played the conga drum. There is no guitar. (Songfacts.com)]
4. A) I Am the Walrus [Lennon wrote most of this while tripping on acid. Lennon made sure the lyrics didn’t make sense so he could confuse all the people trying to analyze his songs. (Songfacts.com)]
5. B) Act Naturally [It was originally recorded by Buck Owens. It was a #1 Country and Western song in 1963. This was written by Johnny Russell and Voni Morrison. Russell was a prolific Country music songwriter, and Morrison was a member of Owens’ backup band, The Buckaroos. Ringo sang lead on this. He was a fan of Country music. (Songfacts.com)]

Today I got two through five. I’m really only familiar with Carly’s early work. Did you know that she’s the daughter of the Simon of Simon & Schuster?

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.