Stress? What stress?

The Buckinghams – Kind of a Drag

Today’s Quote: “I think it would be a good idea.” — Mahatma Gandhi, when asked what he thought of Western civilization


Why do users seem to think that lack of planning on their part constitutes an emergency on my part? User in Columbus needs to have his laptop reloaded. He says he’ll have someone drop it off Tuesday morning and he’ll pick it up Wednesday. What happens? He shows up with the computer at 10 this morning just as I’m leaving for a staff meeting; he’d like to have it back by two. I work on it after the meeting and it takes me over an hour just to copy his files. It doesn’t take long to ghost the machine but I have to install a couple of applications. Of course, it’s not ready at two. I agree to take it up to Troy when I finish it. (I was looking for another reason to go up there anyway.)

Another user is being transferred to another department and his new boss somehow didn’t realize there would be paperwork involved. He mentions the transfer to me yesterday afternoon and I e-mail the form to him. I had an e-mail from him this morning that he had filled out the form and tried to leave it on my desk but the door was locked. The e-mail was sent at 10:30 last night. Of course the door was locked! Did he expect me to wait all night for him? I get the paperwork today and I give it to my boss who gets everyone to agree to transfer his current laptop with the guy. That should make my life easier, right? Don’t count on it. In his new position, he needs a new application so I install it. This application requires an account, which, because my boss only got the paperwork today, hasn’t had a chance to get the word to the guy who sets up those accounts. The user says he’s going on the road tomorrow and will need to use the software. I hope he got it worked out because I got my stuff together and went to Troy.

Is there too much stress in my life? Yeah, right. The only time I get to relax is at lunch and that’s because I take my lunch to the cafeteria and eat it away from my cubicle. I’m surprised I don’t get drive bys there. When are they going to hire someone else?


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. What kind of star did Lee Marvin sing about in 1970? A) Wandrin’ B) Silver C) Shootin’
2. Who played the classical Polish pianist in The Pianist film of 2001? A) Daniel Day-Lewis B) Ralph Fiennes C) Adrian Brody
3. Which musical did the 70s hit Day By Day come from? A) Hair B) Jesus Christ Superstar C) Godspell
4. The film Immortal Beloved was about which classical composer? A) Mozart B) Beethoven C) Liszt
5. What TV host has a gold LP with Romantic Christmas? A)Lawrence Welk B) Bobby Goldsboro C) John Tesh


Music Trivia Answers:
1. A) Wandrin’
2. C) Adrian Brody
3. C) Godspell
4. B) Beethoven
5. C) John Tesh

I bombed on this one. Talk about obscure! Well, I did know number 3. I enjoyed that musical.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.