I miss the voices

Jonathan Edwards – Sunshine

Today’s Quote: “Show me the manner in which a nation cares for it’s dead, and I will measure with mathematical exactness the tender mercies of its people, their respect for the laws of the land and their loyalty to high ideals.” — William Gladstone


Out of sheer boredom (not to be confused with translucent or opaque boredom), I started looking through past LJ entries. Talk about a long, strange trip. I sort of miss the voices. Where did they go? It’s also been quite a while since I’ve felt the pull of the Dark Side. I’d like to believe that’s completely in the past but I know better. Once you’ve gone over to the Dark Side, it will always have influence over you.


I spent several hours today updating my genealogy site today. With all the new people I’ve added in the last couple of weeks, it seemed like a good idea. The most noticeable change will be the background. I think the new one will be more readable. I also added the background to the set of pages that had just a plain white background.


I watched the new Blue Collar comedy show. I thought Bill Engvall’s part was the funniest. The DVD is supposed to be available on the 27th. I’ll be looking for it. I should be able to find it in a redneck town like this.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. Who’s got the Rockin’ Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu? A) Al Green B) Johnny Rivers C) Bill Withers
2. Who was the creator of the novelty group and cartoon characters, “The Chipmunks”? A) Phil Seymour B) David Seville C) Del Shannon
3. Tear in My Beer was re-mastered to feature these two singers. A) Hank Williams and Hank Williams, Jr. B) Rosanne Cash and Johnny Cash C) Patsy Cline and kd lang
4. What kind of ribbon did Dawn tie “round the old oak tree”? A) Purple B) Yellow C) Velvet
5. Who had a number one album called Diva? A) Aretha Franklin B) Whitney Houston C) Annie Lennox


Music Trivia Answers:
1. B) Johnny Rivers
2. B) David Seville [His real name was Ross Bagdasarian (January 27, 1919 – January 16, 1972).]
3. A) Hank Williams and Hank Williams, Jr.
4. B) Yellow [This was written by Irwin Levine and Larry Brown. It is based on the true story of a convict retuning from jail. They got the story from a 1971 article in The New York Post, and changed some of the details. It was really a white handkerchief around the tree, but they made it a yellow ribbon because it made for a better song. (Songfacts.com)]
5. C) Annie Lennox

I got one through four despite the fact that the answers were so obvious.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.