A King On A Porcelain Throne

The Fugs – Wide, Wide River

Today’s Quote: “A Senate committee approved a constitutional amendment banning same-sex marriage — apparently forgetting that our forefathers wore wigs and satin Capri pants.” — Tina Fey, Saturday Night Live


The Music of State
In this week’s Time they list the favorite songs for the current Secretary of State and her predecessors. Condy’s top choices were Sunshine of Your Love by Cream and Rocket Man by Elton John. I may not agree with her politics but she does appear to have good taste in music. I have to wonder about Madeleine Albright though. Her favorites are Bruce Springsteen’s Born in the U. S. A., Johnny Cash’s Ring of Fire, and Dvorak’s New World Symphony. Again, I can’t fault her on the music, but I have to wonder if she ever puts much thought into her musical choices. She says she “favors good beats and patriotic themes.” Has she actually listened to or read the lyrics of Born in the U. S. A.? I have never been under the impression that this song has a patriotic theme. Maybe she likes the beat.


Make your vote count
I read that the winner of the latest American Idol contest received nearly 64 million votes from viewers. That’s more votes than any U.S. President has ever received. Am I the only one who’s troubled by this? Maybe we should require candidates for public office to go through an audition process and face Simon Cowell. That may not be as bad an idea as it sounds.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. Brooks & Dunn’s duet with this singer called If you See Him/If You See Her reached number one in 1998. A) Martina McBride B) Trisha Yearwood C) Reba McIntyre
2. According to its own lyric, what is “the perfect country and western song”? A) You Never Even Called Me By My Name B) Take This Job And Shove It C) Good Hearted Woman
3. What is the name of the country-western song with the lyric, “You picked a fine time to leave me ______”? A) Alone B) Diane C) Lucille
4. Who sang the song with the lyric, “Here you come again. Just when I’m about to make it work without you.” ? A) Dolly Parton B) Tammy Wynette C) Jeannie Pruett
5. Which song gave Wynonna Judd her name? A) Night Train B) Route 66 C) I’ve Been Everywhere


That Phospho-Soda oral saline laxative really works. My instruction sheet warns, “Remain close to a toilet as multiple bowel movements may occur.” More like, will occur. The box says it’s unflavored. How can something “unflavored” taste so nasty? I mixed it with Sierra Mist and to be totally honest, I much prefer to mix Jack Daniels in my Mist. Vodka is a clear liquid, isn’t it?


Music Trivia Answers:
1. C) Reba McIntyre [Technically, wouldn’t that be a “trio?”]
2. A) You Never Even Called Me By My Name [David Allen Coe sang the song and, in the spoken dialog, said that Steve Goodman, who wrote the song, claimed it was the perfect country song. Coe said that it was not because he hadn’t said anything at all about mama, trains, trucks, prison, or gettin’ drunk. According to Coe, Goodman wrote another verse with these lyrics:

Well, I was drunk the day my mom got out of prison
And I went to pick her up in the rain.
But before I could get to the station in my pickup truck
She got runned over by a damned old train.

3. C) Lucille
4. A) Dolly Parton
5. B) Route 66

I’ll take credit for knowing 2 and 3.

Wide, Wide River by The Fugs appeared on their album, It Crawled Into of My Hand, Honest. Sadly, the album is long out of print and finding MP3’s of its tracks has proven to be a lesson in futility. It’s a great album, honest!

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.