In the tree again

Howlin’ Wolf – I Better Go Now

Today’s Quote: “Rental cars these days also have buttons all over the steering wheel, which makes me very happy. This is because like all rational, mature adults, I want to be Speed Racer. All I need is a child and his chimp in the trunk and I’m ready to rock. It’s not precisely totally 100 percent the same, though, because Speed’s buttons transformed the car into a boat and launched a robot homing pigeon, while my buttons engage cruise control. In all honesty, I’m about 400 times more likely to use cruise control as I am to need a robot pigeon, but it would be nice to have both.” — Wired’s Lore Sjöberg dreams of the ultimate pimped rental


Music Trivia Quiz (both kinds of music):
1. Who landed a helicopter on Johnny Cash’s lawn to pitch him a demo tape? A) Kris Kristofferson B) George Jones C) Ray Clark
2. Who recorded the song Drinking Wine Spo-dee O’Dee? A) Jerry Lee Lewis B) Waylon Jennings C) Gary Stewart
3. What was the name of Tex Ritter’s horse? A) Tarzan B) Lucky C) White Flash
4. Who was orginially cast as Loretta Lynn’s husband, “Mooney” in Coal Miner’s Daughter before Tommy Lee Jones? A) Harrison Ford B) Kevin Costner C) James Garner
5. What was Tom T. Hall’s nickname? A) Storyteller B) Wondering Boy C) Gentle Giant


A Father’s Last Request

A husband and wife had four boys. The odd part of it was that the older three had red hair, light skin, and were tall, while the youngest son had black hair, dark eyes, and was short.
The father eventually took ill and was lying on his deathbed when he turned to his wife and said, “Honey, before I die, be totally honest with me – is our youngest son my child?”
The wife replied, “I swear on everything that’s holy that he is your son.”
With that the husband passed away. The wife then muttered, “Thank God he didn’t ask about the other three.”


Music Trivia Answers:
1. A) Kris Kristofferson
2. A) Jerry Lee Lewis [He performed this at his very first live appearance in 1949. The song appears on his 1973 album, The Session, which includes many British rockers like Alvin Lee of Ten Years After and Peter Frampton. (Songfacts.com)]
3. C) White Flash
4. A) Harrison Ford
5. A) Storyteller

Score zero for today.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.