Hungry Saturday

The Dixie Chicks – Goodbye Earl

Today’s Quote: “In the choice between changing one’s mind and proving there’s no need to do so, most people get busy on the proof.” — John Kenneth Galbraith, economist (1909-2006)


Today in History:
On May 6, 1937, the hydrogen-filled German dirigible Hindenberg burned and crashed in Lakehurst, N.J., killing 36 of the 97 people on board.


Today in the present:
When I dropped off my lifeless lawnmower at the lawnmower-fixit place last Saturday, they told me it would be five days and to check back on Friday. Well, I called today to check on it and they told me that what they meant to say was it would be five days before they even looked at it, not including weekends. They assured me it was on the operating table and should be ready to go home on Monday. In the meantime, the grass in my backyard is tall enough for rabbits to hide in it. I saw one dash by me this afternoon as I waded through the sea of green.

One pile of branches has made it into the truck but too late to get them to the city’s yard waste facility. Maybe they’ll help keep people from tailgating me for the next week. One can only hope.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. From which musical comes the lyric, “I’m gonna rouge my knees and roll my stockings down, and all that jazz”? A) Chicago B) A Chorus Line C) All That Jazz
2. In which musical would you find the song Luck Be A Lady? A) 42nd Street B) Showboat C) Guys and Dolls
3. I Don’t Know How To Love Him was a hit song from which musical? A) The Goodbye Girl B) Jesus Christ Superstar C) Rent
4. Which song was voted the number one song of all time on Rolling Stone Magazine’s Top 500 Song vote in 2004? A) Like A Rolling Stone B) Imagine C) Satisfaction
5. According to Chuck Berry’s song, who could play guitar “like ringing a bell”? A) Johnny B. Goode B) Dear Dad C) Betty Jean


Music Trivia Answers:
1. A) Chicago
2. C) Guys and Dolls
3. B) Jesus Christ Superstar [It was sung by Yvonne Elliman who played Mary Magdalene in the 1971 Webber-Rice rock opera, the 1973 film, and the Broadway version. She also sang backup for Eric Clapton for a number of years on such songs as The Core and I Shot The Sheriff. (Songfacts.com)]
4. A) Like A Rolling Stone [The title is not a reference to The Rolling Stones. It is taken from the phrase “A rolling stone gathers no moss.” Dylan got the idea from the Hank Williams song Lost Highway, which contains the line, “I’m a rolling stone, I’m alone and lost.” Dylan based the lyrics on a short story he had written about a debutante who becomes a loner when she falls out of high society. The lyrics that made it into the song are only a small part of what was in the story. (Songfacts.com)]
5.A) Johnny B. Goode [The line, “That little country boy could play” was originally, “That little colored boy can play.” Berry knew he had to change it if he wanted the song played on the radio. In 1981, Keith Richards went backstage at a Chuck Berry show in New York. Not knowing who he was and thinking he was an annoying fan, Berry punched him. The song was also featured in the 1985 movie Back To The Future. (Songfacts.com) This song has been covered by nearly every band in the world since 1958.]

I got 3 out of 5 today (2, 3, & 5). Hard to believe I got two questions on musicals. (It helped that I had seen the Wayne High School production of Guys and Dolls. I wouldn’t be able to hold my head up in public if I had missed the Chuck Berry question. I haven’t read Rolling Stone in a very long time. I probably would have picked Satisfaction or Imagine but Rolling Stone has always tried to be hip. It’s always been more hip to like Bob Dylan or the Talking Heads than John Lennon or The Rolling Stones. Like A Rolling Stone is a good song too.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.