Happy Birthday, Jesus

Quote of the day: “Jesus said, ‘Do not be concerned from morning until evening and from evening until morning about what you will wear.'” — Gospel of Thomas, 36

Song of the day: Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
Artist: Stevie Ray Vaughn & Double Trouble
Album: Couldn’t Stand the Weather
Released: 1984


LaughingJesusBelieve
17 April 6 B.C.E.

Today may not be the actual date Jesus was born but it is a lot more probable than December 25th. Luke 2:8 speaks of an angel appearing to shepherds keeping watch over their flock in the fields by night. Shepherds watched their flocks in this manner in the spring when the ewes gave birth. There is also evidence suggesting that an astrological phenomenon likely to have produced the effect we know as the Star of Bethlehem occurred in 6 BCE on April 17. Our calendar is known to be about 6 years off. It may not be the correct day but it’s a lot more plausible than the arbitrary choice of the day culminating a Roman festival devoted to lawlessness, debauchery, and the fulfillment of every one of the seven deadly sins.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. Which medical TV series did Suicide is Painless come from? A) Marcus Welby, M.D. B) St. Elsewhere C) M*A*S*H
2. In My Way, what do you face “now that the end is near”? A) The final curtain B) The music playing C) The loves and losses
3. Which instrument did Suzi Quatro play? A) bass B) fiddle C) drums
4. What kind of singer was Mariah Carey’s mother? A) Gospel B) Opera C) Broadway musical
5. Mariah Carey’s second top ten hit was Anytime You Need ________: A) an answer B) me C) a friend


“His disciples said, ‘When will You become revealed to us and when shall we see You?’ Jesus said, ‘When you disrobe without being ashamed and take up your garments and place them under your feet like little children and tread on them, then [will you see] the Son of the Living One, and you will not be afraid.'” — Gospel of Thomas, 37


Music Trivia Answers:
1. C) M*A*S*H [It was the theme song of the movie and TV series M*A*S*H. The version used in the 1970 movie is the complete song, while the TV show used a much shorter instrumental version. The lyrics used in the movie were written by Mike Altman, the teenage son of Robert Altman who directed M*A*S*H. (Songfacts.com)]
2. A) The final curtain
3. A) bass [She played Pinky Tuscadero on Happy Days and she had at least one album I liked.]
4. B) Opera
5. C) a friend

I knew 1 and 3. I never really listened to Frank Sinatra’s lyrics or the music of Mariah Carey.


Suicide is Painless
Through early morning fog I see
visions of the things to be
the pains that are withheld for me
I realize and I can see…

[chorus]

That suicide is painless
It brings on many changes
and I can take or leave it if I please.

I try to find a way to make
all our little joys relate
without that ever-present hate
but now I know that it’s too late, and…

[Chorus]

The game of life is hard to play
I’m gonna lose it anyway
The losing card I’ll someday lay
so this is all I have to say.

[Chorus]

The only way to win is cheat
And lay it down before I’m beat
and to another give my seat
for that’s the only painless feat.

[Chorus]

MASH
The sword of time will pierce our skins
It doesn’t hurt when it begins
But as it works its way on in
The pain grows stronger…watch it grin, but…

[Chorus]

A brave man once requested me
to answer questions that are key
‘is it to be or not to be’
and I replied ‘oh why ask me?’

‘Cause suicide is painless
it brings on many changes
and I can take or leave it if I please.
…and you can do the same thing if you choose.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.