If I must die, let it be with a woody

The Beatles – Her Majesty


Today’s Quote: “There are some experiences in life which should not be demanded twice from any man, and one of them is listening to the Brahms Requiem.” — George Bernard Shaw (1856-1950)


This Is My Life, Rated
Life: 5.7
Mind: 5.9
Body: 5.2
Spirit: 4.4
Friends/Family: 5.6
Love: 1.8
Finance: 6.7
Take the Rate My Life Quiz

I have no idea what these ratings mean.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. In what year did the Supremes officially break up? A) 1972 B) 1977 C) 1979
2. Which rhythm and blues artist released Try A Little Tenderness? A) Otis Redding B) The Drifters C) Sam Cooke
3. Who was known as the “Queen of Gospel Singers?” A) Kathy Taylor-Brown B) Mahalia Jackson C) Della Reese
4. What is a “cork opera?” A) A minstrel show B) An opera without instruments C) A men-only opera
5. What was the name of John Lennon’s skiffle band in 1957 that eventually became The Beatles? A) The Cavemen B) The Quarrymen C) The Liverpool Tadpoles


I’ve been seeing this animated commercial where they start off by saying that x percent of men have diabetes, y percent have high blood pressure, and z percent have high cholesterol, then announcing that the one thing they may have in common is that “their love life may not be what it used to be.” My reaction had always been, “So what? Nobody’s love life is what it used to be.” Last night its message finally hit me. Rather than saying that if men have or are prone to these conditions, they should take care of themselves and get treatment, not because of the danger of these things leading to heart disease and possibly killing them, but because if they don’t take care of it, they may become impotent. The bottom line — men fear impotency more than death. That my friends, is a stroke of marketing genius.

Speaking of men’s health, I got a nice card from my local military health care facility wishing me a happy birthday and cordially inviting me to stop by and have one of their doctors stick a finger up my ass. Well, isn’t that special? (My ass fingering appointment is on the 10th.)


Music Trivia Answers:
1. B) 1977
2. A) Otis Redding [The song was also recorded by Sam Cooke. Otis did not want to record the song but did so under pressure and in a way he was sure wouldn’t be released. Three Dog Night recorded this as a tribute to the late Otis Redding. (Songfacts.com)]
3. B) Mahalia Jackson
4. A) A minstrel show
5. B) The Quarrymen

I’m 3 for 5 today. I knew 2, 3, and 5.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

One thought on “If I must die, let it be with a woody”

  1. If you answered “C” for question #2, I’ll give you credit since Sam Cooke did record the song although it was never released as a single. According to the Songfacts information, Otis Redding had heard Sam’s rendition of the song and had a great deal of respect and admiration for Sam Cooke.
    I would love to have both versions of the song.

    Like

Comments are closed.

Uncensored and Uncovered

Nu comme le jour où je suis né

Ho Chi Minh Trail Ride

Exploring the Ho Chi Minh Trail on a dual purpose (on/off-road) motorcycle

The Art of Storytelling

Nick Alimonos's Official Blog

Gaze Deeper

Dreaming and self-discovery

lame_thoughts

Story of a moment

This is my place.

A place where I let it all hang out.

Jillian Page

Reflections on life in the global village

MojoNude

Nude is our natural, default state. Clothing is a deviation and a compromise.

For What It's Worth

There's something happening here, what it is ain't exactly clear…

Naked and Happy

Exclusively naturist!

Clothes Free Life

bringing life to naturist ideals and nudist practice

My Life as a Naturist

An affirmation of the naturalness and decency of human nudity.

Naturist Philosopher

Thoughts and ramblings about naturism

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.