Intelligent design as applied to technology is also a myth

The Boxtops – Cry Like A Baby

Today’s Quote: “For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong. ” — H. L. Mencken


I still hate technology
That’s right, boys and girls, Larry the Luddite says, “Technology sucks!” Last night one of the company servers puked during the backup. I thought it was strange that only 1GB had been backed up after 11½ hours. Then the world’s crappiest backup software insisted on trying to continue the backup even after I tried to abort it several times. I wanted to abort, the software wanted to try to carry it to term. I ended up rebooting the backup server. (Assisted suicide is sometimes a viable option.) When the server came back up, it complained that the tope was still in the drive and I should manually eject it. Fine. My documentation for the tape library only tells me how to eject the tape from a drive that’s not installed on my tape library. After an hour and a half, I finally found the eject button hidden behind a metal plate. You had to be looking at it from the proper angle to see it and have tiny fingers to actually reach it. (So much for intelligent design.) I also have a computer that I’d like to boot to DOS and ghost an image to, but it won’t see a USB keyboard or mouse once it boots to the non-GUI DOS-based OS and apparently the computer industry considers PS/2 to be a totally obsolete technology along with the floppy drive (neither of which has outlived its usefulness in the real world). I noticed there is an image on the network for this particular model so it must have worked for somebody at some point.

Maybe it’s time for a career change. I’ll start watching Dirty Jobs to get some leads. I watched it last night and it brought back a lot of memories from when I worked on the farm.


Music Trivia Quiz:
1. Which performer or band did not record a song about Georgia? A) Charlie Daniels Band B) Lynyrd Skynyrd C) Gladys Night and the Pips
2. The Monkees took The Last Train to _________ which is what city in Tennessee? A) Knoxville B) Nashville C) Clarksville
3. Bread recorded a one-word song with just two letters in it called: A) So B) Do C) If
4. What is the name of the song and the word for the blank in Britney Spears’ lyric, “I’m _____ than yesterday.”? A) Stronger B) Happier C) Better D) Stupider
5. Who had a hit song with Not Tonight? A) Rod Stewart B) L’il Kim C) Vanessa Williams


CapitolFloats


Music Trivia Answers
1. B) Lynyrd Skynyrd [Lynyrd Skynyrd did Sweet Home Alabama. The Charlie Daniels Band recorded The Devil Went Down to Georgia. Gladys Night and the Pips sang Midnight Train to Georgia.]
2. C) Clarksville [Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart wrote this as a song protesting the Vietnam war. It’s about a guy who gets drafted and goes to fight in the war. The train is taking him to an army base, and he knows he may die in Vietnam. At the end of the song he states, “I don’t know if I’m ever coming home.” They couldn’t plug it as a protest song so they snuck it in. It was the Maonkees’ first hit even though the Monkees didn’t actually play on it. (Songfacts.com)]
3. C) If
4. A) Stronger
5. B) L’il Kim

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “Intelligent design as applied to technology is also a myth”

    1. But hey, #5 was a hip hop question or whatever they call that noise. Who’s L’il Kim anyway? I think the only time I’ve heard her name mentioned had something to do with criminal proceedings against her. I won’t count #5 against you.
      I would have picked “D” for #4 but it wasn’t one of the choices on the card.
      It looks like I need to fix my HTML there; too much is italicized.

      Like

Comments are closed.