Some Crap That Floated To The Top

Jonathan Edwards – Sunshine

Today’s Quote: “Man… I reek of cheap cologne, I almost got into a bar fight… what am I doing with my life?” — God (God, The Devil, and Bob)


Stupid in America discusses education (or the lack of it) in America. It’s rather obvious to the most casual observer that many (most?) of our school systems don’t work. “Despite spending a record-breaking $10,000 a student a year, [the U.S.] still ranks 25th out of 40 countries that took an international standardized test. Ahead of us – South Korea (No. 2), Poland, Latvia – not exactly rich countries.” Perhaps we should give each student the ten grand and let him get his own education. As a nation that rewards mediocrity and stupidity, we probably have the public education system we deserve.


Dickheads of the Week (for the week ending Jan 7th, 2006)
I found the first dickheads the most disturbing. Some people deserved to be neutered and not allowed to breed. As for Pat Robertson, maybe he deserves it too (for being a pompous ass, if nothing else). At a minimum, he should be forced to attend children’s Bible study classes as a student and actually read his Bible, especially the “red” words (they’re the important ones).


An Exotic Tool for Espionage: Moral Compass
By SCOTT SHANE (New York Times, Saturday, January 28, 2006)
According to the article, “A group of intelligence officers and academics are meeting this weekend to hammer out a code of ethics for spies. … Conference materials describe intelligence ethics as “an emerging field” and call the gathering, not sponsored by any government agency, the first of its kind.” Yeah, I’ll bet it is a first. I can’t imagine there are a lot of experts in the field of “ethical espionage.”

At the conference they pondered such timely issues as how many civilian deaths can be justified in a C.I.A. Predator missile strike to kill a known terrorist, or what legal assurances a National Security Agency eavesdropper should demand before singling out the phone calls of an American who was linked to Al Qaeda. I’m sure it’s going to be difficult to determine how many civilian deaths are too many to get one terrorist. How about one? And I would certainly demand legal assurances that my ass wasn’t going to be sued by some innocent citizen whose Constitutional rights I violated.

“It doesn’t make much sense to me,” said Duane R. Clarridge, who retired in 1988 after 33 years as a C.I.A. operations officer and who will not attend the conference. “Depending on where you’re coming from, the whole business of espionage is unethical.”

To Mr. Clarridge, “intelligence ethics” is “an oxymoron,” he said. “It’s not an issue. It never was and never will be, not if you want a real spy service.” Spies operate under false names, lie about their jobs, and bribe or blackmail foreigners to betray their countries, he said.

Yeah, how ethical is that?


What? No Football Tonight?
I can’t believe it! I actually get to watch Fox’s socially redeeming Sunday night line-up of quality family entertainment — The Simpsons, The Family Guy, and American Dad. Yes, there is a just and loving God.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “Some Crap That Floated To The Top”

    1. That’s right. It’s Stupid Bowl Sunday, isn’t it? I’m sure I’ll find a more productive way to spend my time. I might clean the lint out of my belly button or something. I’m not even planning to watch the halftime show unless I can be assured I’ll be able to see at least one pair of quality breasts. Thanks to the Puritans at the FCC, I can be fairly certain that won’t happen.
      Well, the Simpsons was pretty good.

      Like

Comments are closed.