Dickens floppy condo buffalo soldier

“Weird Al” Yankovic – Buy Me A Condo

Today’s Quote: “It is required of every man,” the Ghost [of Marley] returned, “that the spirit within him should walk abroad among his fellow-men, and travel far and wide; and if that spirit goes not forth in life, it is condemned to do so after death.” (A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens)


I feel a little more “Christmassy” today. I watched A Christmas Carol last night. It was the 1951 black & white version with Alastair Sim as Ebeneezer Scrooge. Actually, the title of the film is Scrooge and it was based on A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. Dickens’ title was used for the American release of the film. The screenplay was adapted by Noel Langley who also wrote the screenplay for The Wizard of Oz. This is my favorite adaptation of the story although George C. Scott also played a great Scrooge in the 1984 remake. When it comes to movies, I tend to favor the originals (without colorization, thank you). over the remakes. I think it’s treatment in black and white helps to set the mood and portray the bleakness of London in Dickens’ time.


1951-xmas-ignorance-want
Ignorance and Want

“‘Forgive me if I am not justified in what I ask,’ said Scrooge, looking intently at the Spirit’s robe,’ but I see something strange, and not belonging to yourself, protruding from your skirts. Is it a foot or a claw.’

‘It might be a claw, for the flesh there is upon it,’ was the Spirit’s sorrowful reply. ‘Look here.’

From the foldings of its robe, it brought two children; wretched, abject, frightful, hideous, miserable. They knelt down at its feet, and clung upon the outside of its garment.

‘Oh, Man. look here. Look, look, down here.’ exclaimed the Ghost.

They were a boy and a girl. Yellow, meager, ragged, scowling, wolfish; but prostrate, too, in their humility. Where graceful youth should have filled their features out, and touched them with its freshest tints, a stale and shriveled hand, like that of age, had pinched, and twisted them, and pulled them into shreds. Where angels might have sat enthroned, devils lurked, and glared out menacing. No change, no degradation, no perversion of humanity, in any grade, through all the mysteries of wonderful creation, has monsters half so horrible and dread.

Scrooge started back, appalled. Having them shown to him in this way, he tried to say they were fine children, but the words choked themselves, rather than be parties to a lie of such enormous magnitude.

‘Spirit. are they yours.’ Scrooge could say no more.

‘They are Man’s,’ said the Spirit, looking down upon them. ‘And they cling to me, appealing from their fathers. This boy is Ignorance. This girl is Want. Beware them both, and all of their degree, but most of all beware this boy, for on his brow I see that written which is Doom, unless the writing be erased. Deny it.’ cried the Spirit, stretching out its hand towards the city. ‘Slander those who tell it ye. Admit it for your factious purposes, and make it worse. And abide the end.’

‘Have they no refuge or resource.’ cried Scrooge.

‘Are there no prisons.’ said the Spirit, turning on him for the last time with his own words. ‘Are there no workhouses.'”

— A Christmas Carol, Stave 3: The Second of the Three Spirits (Charles Dickens)


This morning, whilst partaking of my morning shower, it dawned on me that there seemed to be an certain similarities between Weird Al’s Buy Me A Condo and Bob Marley’s Buffalo Soldiers. I don’t know what significance this has (if any) but it does merit further investigation. Could Weird Al, like George Harrison before him, be guilty of unconscious plagiarism? (Maybe I’m totally tone-deaf or something but I’ve listened to He’s So Fine and My Sweet Lord back to back and I really don’t see (hear) much similarity between the two songs.)


Going back to December 10 and the bruise on my ass, it turns out there was damage to more than my ass. My computer bag had “cushioned” my landing so to speak. It turns out I smashed my floppy drive. It has a depression that closely resembles the shape of my ass. I discovered this today when I needed to use it. Fortunately, there was still a week left on my warranty.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

3 thoughts on “Dickens floppy condo buffalo soldier”

    1. Ass-crushings? Covered.
      I didn’t exactly tell them I crushed it with my ass. It’s covered by a “Complete Care” warranty so it’s cool. I’m glad there was still a week left on the warranty.

      Like

Comments are closed.