Downward Sprial Into Hell

I seem to be on a downward spiral. My life has gone from Kansas to a circle of Hell that Dante could not have imagined. I wish I knew what sin sent me there.

The Seven Deadly Sins (in decreasing order of severity):

  1. Pride
  2. Envy
  3. Anger
  4. Sloth
  5. Greed
  6. Gluttony
  7. Lust

Nope, it wasn’t one of those although Pope Gregory the Great had placed Sadness in the number four position in the 6th century. Sloth didn’t make the list until the 17th century, replacing sadness. I guess the Puritans figured being lazy was more damning than having the blues. Of course, the Puritans didn’t sing the blues. That would have been tantamount to Satan worship to them, right up there with being a Quaker sympathizer.

If a sin that’s not on the list put me in this mess, I’d hate think how tortured my soul would be if I were guilty of one the seven deadly ones.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.