It crawled into my hand, honest!

The Fugs – Wide Wide River

The History Channel has been running a series on the Presidents and it’s quite interesting. I had no idea that John Quincy Adams and Lyndon Baines Johnson went skinny dipping while in office. Johnson did it in a pool while Adams did it in the Potomac. There may have been a reason why James Buchanan was the “bachelor” president. There is speculation that he may have been gay. The series is based on the book To the Best of My Ability: The American Presidents, edited by James M. McPherson. I’m thinking it would be a good read.

Here’s an interesting bit of genealogy information
2 Parents
4 Grandparents
8 Great Grandparents
16 Great Great Grandparents
32 Great Great Great Grandparents
64 Great Great Great Great Grandparents
128 Great Great Great Great Great Grandparents
256 Great Great Great Great Great Great Grandparents
512 Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Grandparents
1024 Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Grandparents
Add them up and you’ve got 2046 direct ancestors in 10 generations. This is assuming there was no inbreeding or immaculate conceptions somewhere along the line.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

4 thoughts on “It crawled into my hand, honest!”

    1. That is amazing. I saw it in a Kraft Food & Family magazine this morning and then browsed Kraft’s web site. I figured I could cook it. Hmm, let me know how it turns out.
      Since it’s Thursday and she gets paid tomorrow, it will probably be a date night.
      What did you think of Darth Tater?

      Like

Comments are closed.