I hate plumbing

I have a lot of respect for plumbers, I really do. They must have the patience of Job. I think other job requirements are to be a contortionist and to not be claustrophobic. I hate doing my own “simple” plumbing jobs. I couldn’t imagine doing it for a living. I completely understand why they charge what they do (and they make it look so easy).

My flapper needed replacing so I decided to get the ballcock and everything. After gettting that installed, the end of the supply line broke so I had to get a new one. Got that one and the tank is leaking. Great. So I take it all apart and apply a little bit of silicone caulk and that takes care of that. Now when I flush the toilet, it fills to the brim and it drains very slowly. After the water level finally returns to normal, I noticed that water is still running into the bowl — the damned flapper isn’t sealing right. And to top it all off, the shut off valve may need to be replaced. That’s a job for a professional, or at least someone more skilled in the plumbing arts than I.

I guess I’ll get another flapper (just the flapper) and see how that works. And now I have sewer water bubbling up in my front yard like a spirng.

The wet carpet from the air conditioning will probably require a professional as well. I got the panel opened up enough to peak inside and it doesn’t look like anything I want to get involved with. Of course, I can’t call anyone until Tuesday; it’s not exactly an emergency. I’m about ready to sell the place and become a renter again.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “I hate plumbing”

  1. Buy a condo…
    Home ownership, little maintenance. Give up mowing the lawn! I really don’t think moving to a smaller house would be a bad idea. If the guy who remodeled your place had been even mildly competent, you wouldn’t have a lot of the issues you do now. Maybe you ought to consider selling and cutting your losses with it. Houses like yours are going for about $100k now. It’d pay off the equity loan and maybe save you some money in the long run.
    Of course we’d have to call that “Sell My House” show to help store the stuff… But after almost 30 years of marriage, you’re entitled to accumulation.
    I know! Sell yours, buy ours, and we’ll find a place with two bathrooms so I don’t have to compete with the boys for potty time!

    Like

Comments are closed.